ESCMID

From European champion to global brand

The European Society of Clinical Microbiology and Infectious Diseases, ESCMID for short, is growing rapidly, gaining influence worldwide and developing into a global science brand. With 12,000 members, 20,000 congress participants, 32 study groups, extensive training and certification programmes, highly cited journals and internationally recognised guidelines, ESCMID is one of the largest medical societies in the world. 

The new logo combines European origins with a global perspective and visualises the open, dynamic and constantly growing community. The round design language and turquoise green colour reflect the organic character of the field and tie in with the visual heritage of the 40-year-old society.

ESCMID Brand Architecture

Structured brand portfolio with a strong umbrella brand

A four-level umbrella brand strategy and a uniform design language ensure clear identitification and image transfer between the numerous activities and sub-organisations. Service sub-brands denote the overarching services: Congress, Academy and Library. Group sub-brands identify the self-organised study groups under the ESCMID umbrella. Endorsed brands signalise the affiliation of the important European Committees to ESCMID. Co-branding demonstrates the support and funding of the independent scientific journals CMI and CMI Communications.

From ‘European Congress’ to ESCMID Global

Around 20,000 visitors, 8,000 submitted abstracts, 600 sessions and symposia, and 200 exhibitors from over 100 countries make ESCMID Global the world's largest and most relevant congress in its field. The change of name from ‘European Congress of Clinical Microbiology and Infectious Diseases (ECCMID)’ to ESCMID Global emphasises the new dimension and focus. The striking, dynamic metaball space creates an overarching visual identity via digital and physical signage, live streaming, congress app, congress TV, and staff clothing.

Signage at the ESCMID Global congress
Flags at ESCMID Global Congress
Speaker in front of an audience at ESCMID Global
National flags at ESCMID Global
ESCMID Global congress visitors
ESCMID Global congress visitors in the poster area
Exhibition stand at the ESCMID Global Congress
Hanging Banner at the ESCMID Global Congress
Wall labelling for the ESCMID Global Congress
Welcome Screen at the ESCMID Global Congress
Window labelling in vinyl at the ESCMID Global Congress
Helpdesk totem sign at ESCMID Global Congress
Badges on lanyard for the ESCMID Global Congress
Person wearing staff T-shirt at ESCMID Global Congress
Person carries tote-bag from the ESCMID Global Congress

Digital presence

User-centered, modular UI design creates a consistent brand identity across the numerous digital channels: websites, learning platforms, event platforms, streaming platforms, libraries and numerous social media channels.

Notification from the ESCMID Global App on smartwatch

Scientific publications and reporting

Precise, factual communication of scientific and technical content goes hand in hand with the fascination of science and the underlying ambition to improve the prevention, diagnosis and treatment of infectious diseases.

ESCMID CMI Communications Journal Cover on tablet screen

“Capturing the pioneering spirit, maintaining credibility and reaching out to a global community - that was our aim.”

Fabian Sander, Partner

ESCMID Business Cards
ESCMID pencils in the brand colours
Guidelines for the corporate design of ESCMID
ESCMID Brand Colour Concept

Launch and member communication

The new website will be launched at the congress, when a large part of the community will be able to experience it both online and live on site. The various stakeholders will be informed in stages in advance: managers, members, partner organisations, industry partners and the trade press.

Our services

Brand portfolio strategy | Brand assessment | Brand positioning | Naming | Logo design | Brand design | CGI and motion design | Launch communication | Internal launch and implementation | Congress design concept | Congress signage and way-finding-system | Congress video | Brand video | UX consulting and information architecture | UI design for websites and applications | Texts for web and print | Brochures | Advertising material | Annual report | Advertising material | Merchandise | CI/CD guidelines.

ESCMID

Vom europäischen Schwergewicht zum Global Brand

Die European Society of Clinical Microbiology and Infectious Diseases, kurz ESCMID, wächst schnell, gewinnt weltweit an Einfluss und entwickelt sich zum globalen Science-Brand. Mit 12’000 Mitgliedern, 20’000 Kongressteilnehmern, 32 Study Groups, umfangreichen Ausbildungs- und Zertifizierungsprogrammen, vielzitierten Journals und international anerkannten Guidelines ist ESCMID eine der grossen Medical Societies weltweit. 

Das neue Logo vereint europäische Herkunft mit globaler Perspektive und visualisiert die offene, dynamische und stetig wachsende Community. Die runde Formensprache und türkisgrüne Farbe greifen den organischen Charakter des Fachgebiets auf und knüpfen an das visuelle Erbe der 40-jährigen Society an.

ESCMID Markenarchitektur

Strukturiertes Markenportfolio mit starker Dachmarke

Eine vierstufige Dachmarkenstrategie und eine einheitliche Designsprache gewährleisten die eindeutige Zuordnung und den Imagetransfer zwischen den zahlreichen Aktivitäten und Teilorganisationen. Service-Subbrands zeichnen die übergreifenden Leistungen aus: Kongress, Academy und Library. Gruppen-Subbrands identifizieren die selbstorganisierten Study Groups unter dem ESCMID-Dach. Endorsed Brands signalisieren die Zugehörigkeit der wichtigen European Committees zu ESCMID. Co-Branding demonstriert die Unterstützung und Finanzierung der inhaltlich unabhängigen wissenschaftlichen Journale CMI und CMI Communications.

Vom «European Congress» zu ESCMID Global

Rund 20’000 Besucher, 8’000 eingereichte Abstracts, 600 Sessions und Symposien sowie 200 Aussteller aus über 100 Ländern machen ESCMID Global zum weltweit grössten und relevantesten Kongress auf seinem Gebiet. Der Namenswechsel von «European Congress of Clinical Microbiology and Infectious Diseases (ECCMID)» zu ESCMID Global macht die neue Dimension und Ausrichtung deutlich. Der markante, dynamische Metaball-Space schafft eine übergreifende visuelle Identität via digitaler und physischer Signaletik, Live-Streaming, Congress-App und Congress-TV und Staff-Bekleidung.

Signaletik am Kongress ESCMID Global
Fahnen am ESCMID Global Kongress
Speaker vor Publikum am ESCMID Global
Landesflaggen am ESCMID Global
ESCMID Global Kongressbesucher
ESCMID Global Kongressbesucher in der Poster Area
Messestand am ESCMID Global Kongress
Hängebanner am ESCMID Global Kongress
Wandbeschriftung zur Wegleitung am ESCMID Global Kongress
Welcome Screen am ESCMID Global Kongress
Fensterbeschriftung in Vinyl am ESCMID Global Kongress
Helpdesk Stele am ESCMID Global Kongress
Badges an Lanyard für den ESCMID Global Kongress
Person trägt Staff T-Shirt am ESCMID Global Kongress
Person trägt ESCMID Global Stofftasche

Digitale Präsenz

Nutzerzentriertes, modulares UI-Design schafft eine durchgängige Markenidentität über die zahlreichen digitalen Kanäle hinweg: Websites, Learning-Platforms, Event-Platforms, Streaming-Platforms, Libraries und zahlreiche Social-Media-Kanäle.

ESCMID Global App auf Smartwatch

Wissenschaftliche Publikationen und Berichterstattung

Präzise, sachliche Kommunikation wissenschaftlicher und fachlicher Inhalte geht Hand in Hand mit der Faszination der Wissenschaft und der allem zugrundeliegenden Ambition, die Prävention, Diagnose und Behandlung von Infektionskrankheiten zu verbessern.

ESCMID CMI Communications Journal Cover auf Tablet-Screen

«Dynamik erzeugen, Heritage bewahren und die Akzeptanz einer weltweiten Community gewinnen – darum ging es uns.»

Fabian Sander

ESCMID Visitenkarten
ESCMID Bleistifte in den Markenfarben
Guidelines zum Corporate Design von ESCMID
Farbkonzept der Marke ESCMID

Lancierung und Mitglieder-Kommunikation

Der neue Auftritt wird auf den Kongress hin lanciert, wenn ihn ein grosser Teil der Community sowohl online wie auch live vor Ort erleben kann. Im Vorfeld werden die verschiedenen Stakeholder gestaffelt informiert: Führungspersonen, Mitglieder, Partnerorganisationen, Industriepartner und die Fachpresse.

Leistungen

Markenportfoliostrategie | Markenanalyse | Markenpositionierung | Logo Design | Brand Design | CGI and Motion Design | Launch-Kommunikation | Interne Lancierung und Implementierung | Kongress-Design | Kongress-Signaletik und Wegleitung | Kongress-Video | Brand Video | UX-Beratung und Informationsarchitektur | UI-Design für Websites und Applikationen | Texte für Web und Print | Broschüren | Werbemittel | Jahresbericht | Werbemittel | Merchandise | CI/CD-Guidelines.