UPK Basel, illustration of a flower meadow

University Psychiatric Clinics of Basel

Top medicine for the benefit of all

In Switzerland, every third person suffers from a diagnosed mental illness over the course of one year. However, less than half use professional help. Although psychiatric and psychotherapeutic treatments are an important pillar of the health system, the UPK Basel continue to fight for social acceptance of mental illnesses. With a clear recipe: comprehensive supply of high-quality, scientifically sound therapies, open to all who need them.

We are supporting the University Psychiatric Clinics of Basel (UPK Basel) in this multi-faceted challenge as part of a four-year mandate. We’re further developing the brand identity strategically, sharpening the brand architecture and shaping brand image and communication. The UPK Basel underline their position as one of the leading psychiatric institutions in Switzerland and neighboring countries.

Logo UPK Universitäre Psychiatrische Kliniken Basel

Illustrations create closeness

The new appearance of the UPK Basel is characterized by hand-drawn illustrations. The reduction to the essentials and the simple stroke create urgency and high recognition. We can hardly escape the immediacy of the graphic statement. At the same time, it reduces the distanced perception of psychiatric disorders – a central objective of UPK Basel.

UPK Basel, Illustrations on addiction and alcohol
UPK Basel, illustrations for forest, cat and puzzle

How to reach every different stakeholder group

With newly designed communication tools, we’re building a bridge from well-founded, scientifically-based expertise to easy, low-threshold access for all. The layout is clear and tidy. The colors are fresh and lively, but never garish or penetrating. Combined with characteristic illustrations, they call to the viewer’s interest, while the distinctive writing invites readers to read. The approach is personal and direct.

UPK Basel, design of various print media
UPK Basel, design of folding poster for the mission statement
UPK Basel, design of event flyers
UPK Basel, menu card design

Accessible, smart, direct: These are the University Psychiatric Clinics of Basel.

Design of the UPK Basel streetcar campaign "Nichts für Sie!"
Design of the Stationery of the UPK Basel

Consistently responding to patients, relatives and referring physicians

The communication of UPK Basel, which had previously been strongly oriented towards its own organization, will be realigned. The contents consistently speak to the needs and questions of patients, relatives and referring physicians. This becomes particularly clear on the web site. Structure, interaction and interface design are at the service of easy access to psychiatric care.

UPK Basel Website Homepage
UPK Basel Website Adult Patients
UPK Basel Website About us

An easy access via pictures

Bright, friendly and unobtrusive: the imagery respectfully communicates the different perspectives of the psychiatric and psychotherapeutic activities of the UPK. The pictures are authentic and testify UPK Basels respect and empathy.

UPK Basel, picture of woman sitting alone on stairs
UPK Basel, picture with couple embracing in park
UPK Basel, picture of botanical explanatory panel on tree trunk
UPK Basel, picture of person serving food

Transparency and open doors

Since 2017, we have been designing the business and financial report of UPK Basel. The reports convey the openness of the institution and demonstrate its versatility, including offers for children and adults, a forensic sector and the private clinic.

UPK Basel, stack of annual reports
UPK Basel, cover pages of the financial and annual report
UPK Basel, picture of two people discussing the annual report

Awards

Our work for the redesign of UPK Basel has been awarded the Corporate Design Preis for the best corporate design project of the year and a Global Rebrand 100 with Distinction and a DDC (German Designer Club) Bronze Award in the “Identity” category.

Services

Brand analysis | Brand positioning | Brand strategy | Brand promise | Brand personality | Design assessment | Logo design | Corporate design | CI/CD guidelines | Interface design | Printed publications and collateral | Illustration | Communication for referring physicians

Pictures: Scholtysik, Eleni Kougionis

UPK Basel, Illustration einer Blumenwiese

Universitäre Psychiatrische Kliniken Basel

Spitzenmedizin zum Nutzen Aller

In der Schweiz leidet jede dritte Person im Verlauf eines Jahres an einer diagnostizierbaren psychischen Krankheit. Weniger als die Hälfte nimmt jedoch professionelle Hilfe in Anspruch. Obwohl psychiatrische und psychotherapeutische Behandlungen ein wichtiger Pfeiler des Gesundheitssystems sind, kämpfen die UPK Basel weiter für die gesellschaftliche Akzeptanz psychischer Erkrankungen. Mit klarem Rezept: umfassende Versorgung mit hochstehenden, wissenschaftlich fundierten Therapien, offen für alle, die sie benötigen.

Scholtysik unterstützt die UPK Basel im Rahmen eines mehrjährigen Mandats bei dieser vielschichtigen Herausforderung. Wir entwickeln die Markenidentität strategisch weiter, schärfen die Markenarchitektur und gestalten Markenauftritt und Kommunikation. Die UPK Basel unterstreichen dabei ihre Position als eine der führenden psychiatrischen Institutionen der Schweiz und im angrenzenden Ausland.

Logo der UPK Universitäre Psychiatrische Kliniken Basel

Illustrationen schaffen Nähe

Geprägt wird der neue Auftritt der UPK Basel durch handgezeichnete Illustrationen. Die Reduktion aufs Wesentliche und der schlichte Strich schaffen Eindringlichkeit und hohe Wiedererkennung. Der Unmittelbarkeit der zeichnerischen Aussage können wir uns kaum entziehen. Gleichzeitig verringert sie die distanzierte Wahrnehmung von psychiatrischen Erkrankungen – ein zentrales Ziel der UPK Basel.

UPK Basel, Illustrationen zu Sucht und Alkohol
UPK Basel, Illustrationen zu Wald, Katze und Puzzle

Ganz unterschiedliche Anspruchsgruppen erreichen

Mit neu konzipierten Kommunikationsmitteln schlagen wir eine Brücke von fundierter Expertise mit wissenschaftlichem Anspruch zum einfachen, niederschwelligen Zugang für alle. Das Layout ist klar und aufgeräumt. Die Farben sind frisch und lebhaft, aber niemals grell oder penetrant. Kombiniert mit den charakteristischen Illustrationen wecken sie das Interesse des Betrachters, während die markante Schrift zum Lesen einlädt. Die Ansprache ist persönlich und direkt.

UPK Basel, Design diverser Printmedien
UPK Basel, Design von Faltposter zum Leitbild
UPK Basel, Design von Veranstaltungs-Flyern
UPK Basel, Design der Menukarte

Zugänglich, klug, direkt: So sind die UPK Basel.

Design der Tramkampagne "Nichts für Sie!" der UPK Basel
Design des Stationery von den UPK Basel

Konsequent auf Patienten, Angehörige und Zuweiser eingehen

Die zuvor noch stark an der eigenen Organisation orientierte Kommunikation der UPK Basel wird neu ausgerichtet. Die Inhalte sprechen konsequent die Bedürfnisse und Fragen von Patienten, Angehörigen und Zuweisenden an. Besonders deutlich wird das im Web-Auftritt. Struktur, Interaktion und Interface-Design stehen im Dienst des einfachen Zugangs zur psychiatrischen Versorgung.

UPK Basel Website Homepage
UPK Basel Website Erwachsene Patienten
UPK Basel Website Über uns

Leichter Zugang über Bilder

Hell, offen und unaufdringlich: Die Bildwelt vermittelt auf respektvolle Art die unterschiedlichen Blickwinkel der psychiatrischen und psychotherapeutischen Tätigkeit der UPK. Die Bilder sind authentisch und zeugen von Achtung und Einfühlungsvermögen.

UPK Basel, Bild von Frau alleine auf einer Treppe sitzend
UPK Basel, Bild mit sich umarmendem Paar im Park
UPK Basel, Bild von botanischer Erklärtafel an Baumstamm
UPK Basel, Bild von Essen servierender Person

Transparenz und offene Türen

Seit 2017 gestalten wir den Geschäfts- und Finanzbericht der UPK Basel. Die Berichte transportieren die gelebte Offenheit der Institution und demonstrieren die Vielseitigkeit der UPK Basel mit Angeboten für Kinder und Erwachsene, dem Bereich Forensik und der Privatklinik.

UPK Basel, Stapel von Geschäftsberichten
UPK Basel, Titelseiten des Finanz- und Geschäftsberichts
UPK Basel, Bild von zwei Personen den Geschäftsbericht besprechend

Auszeichnungen

Für das Rebranding und Redesign der UPK Basel wurden wir mit dem internationalen Corporate Design Preis für das beste Corporate-Design-Projekt des Jahres sowie mit einem Global Rebrand 100 with Distinction und mit DDC Bronze in der Kategorie «Identity» ausgezeichnet.

Leistungen

Markenanalyse | Markenpositionierung | Markenstrategie | Markenversprechen | Markenpersönlichkeit | Design-Assessment | Logo Design | Corporate Design | CI/CD-Guidelines | Interface Design | Printmedien | Illustration | Kommunikation | Zuweisendenmarketing

Fotos: Scholtysik, Eleni Kougionis